Agar as a Vegan Alternative to Gelatin

Vegan or not vegan~ If you are like me, you are here because you are looking for a thickening alternative to gelatin for cold preparation desserts.

Even before my vegan days and way back to my vegetarian days I always thought gelatin was disgusting.

Whenever I made cold preparation desserts with gelatin, the smell of it upon melting was just so off putting.

But it makes total sense since after all gelatin is nothing more than a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. Usually obtained from cows or pigs.

Hence the smell when you melt it.

No thanks.

Read More →